About this site

How We Compare Outdoor Pizza Ovens

The short answer

We compare published specifications and explain what they can—and cannot—tell you. We have not physically tested the ovens in this index. A model can meet a size requirement while still needing a manual check before you choose where to use it.

On this page (7)
  1. Where our information comes from
  2. What “not stated” means
  3. Three different kinds of space
  4. What our tools do
  5. How we correct the index
  6. FAQ
  7. Sources

Where our information comes from

We start with a maker’s US product page, comparison chart or exact model manual. The source link and the date we read it stay with each specification. A listing in another country is not enough to establish the fuel configuration or electrical version sold in the United States.

Maker claims remain maker claims. An advertised bake time can describe a particular pizza style and starting temperature. It does not establish how many finished pizzas you will serve through an evening.

What “not stated” means

It means the material we read did not establish a usable answer. The manufacturer may publish the answer elsewhere. We also use this state when a page contradicts itself or the dimension labels are unclear. Missing does not mean zero, unsupported does not mean impossible, and an unresolved field does not become a benefit.

Three different kinds of space

Pizza diameter, cooking-surface dimensions and the oven’s external body describe different things. The space around the oven is another requirement. We do not infer safe-use clearance from a body measurement or divide a stone’s area to invent a pizza count.

Some maker capacity claims include the diameter of each pizza. Those are more useful for a batch comparison than an unqualified statement that an oven fits several pizzas. If only a maximum diameter is established, we compare on that single largest pizza.

What our tools do

The Oven Fit Check compares the rectangle you enter, the pizza size you want and your fuel with the maker-stated fields. “Not stated” never counts as a fit. It is not a placement or safety check. Oven Lab is an illustrative 3D model of a generic gas oven; its heat figures come from a simple model, not an oven test or a performance guarantee.

How we correct the index

When a source changes, we review the affected fields and the pages that use them. We preserve the reason for a correction rather than silently selecting whichever number looks more attractive. Send the model, country version, disputed field and maker URL through our contact page. Our funding policy explains why purchase links do not decide inclusion.

Questions people ask

Do you test the ovens?

No. Our comparisons use published specifications. We do not describe catalogue research as hands-on testing.

Does “fits” mean a location is safe?

No. It describes only the named constraint. Follow the exact model manual and use a licensed professional for gas or electrical installation.

Why leave a value unknown?

An unsupported answer would be less useful than an explicit gap. We keep unclear or conflicting fields unresolved until a suitable source establishes them.

Sources (3)

  1. Ooni Koda 2 Max specifications · read 23 Oct 2026 · high
  2. Gozney US oven comparison · read 23 Oct 2026 · high
  3. Gozney Arc clearance guidance · read 23 Oct 2026 · high
OvenScout Editorial Team

We read each maker’s product page, comparison table and manual, and record the source and the date. OvenScout does not test ovens or score them. Methodology · Corrections