Compare · 2 min read

Ooni Koda 2 Max vs Gozney Arc XL: Size and Capacity

The short answer

Shortlist Koda 2 Max if you specifically need its stated two-pizza capacity at a smaller diameter or its larger single-pizza limit. Shortlist Arc XL if its smaller body meets your needs. Neither body measurement is enough to approve the space around the oven.

On this page (8)
  1. Side by side
  2. Do not confuse stone width with pizza size
  3. Use body size as an early filter
  4. Why we do not declare an hourly winner
  5. Which belongs on your shortlist?
  6. Ready to pick one?
  7. FAQ
  8. Sources

Side by side, as each maker states it

SpecKoda 2 MaxOoniArc XLGozney
FuelGasHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pageGasHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Largest pizza20 inHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page16 inHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
12-in pizzas at once2 High confidence: read on the manufacturer page1 Medium confidence: manufacturer domain via search snippetderived
Width28 inHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page20.9 inHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Depth31 inHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page24.8 inHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Height17 inHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page13.5 inHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Weight95 lbHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page58.5 lbHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Optional fuel kitnone statednone stated
Bake claimnot statednot stated
Preheat claimnot stated30–40 minHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemaker claim
Clearancenot statednot stated

Do not confuse stone width with pizza size

Ooni describes a 24 in cooking area, but its stated maximum pizza is 20 in. That distinction matters when your goal is one large pizza. Its separate two-pizza claim applies to 12 in pizzas; it is not a promise of two maximum-size pizzas at once.

Gozney’s US comparison lists Arc XL for 16 in pizzas. A single larger pizza and several smaller pizzas are different serving plans. Start with the format you actually intend to make.

Use body size as an early filter

The Koda 2 Max is wider and deeper on the maker figures above. That can rule it out of a fixed rectangle before you compare other features. But a body-only pass does not establish a sufficient supporting surface, surrounding clearances or fuel-cylinder position.

The published weights also matter for the supporting arrangement and storage plan. We do not turn those figures into a claim that either oven is safe for one person to lift.

Why we do not declare an hourly winner

A simultaneous batch capacity can support a planning model. It cannot establish recovery between batches, the time you spend launching and removing pizzas, or sustained performance.

Which belongs on your shortlist?

Koda 2 Max: investigate it if the explicit two-pizza batch or larger diameter answers a real requirement, and the body and exact gas variant can be accommodated.

Arc XL: investigate it if the stated single-pizza size is enough and its smaller body is useful. Do not apply another Gozney model’s clearance figures to it.

Ready to pick one?

Check both against your own space, then read the exact manual. Purchase buttons are withheld until approved model-specific links are available. Compare all ovens.

Questions people ask

Can Koda 2 Max bake a pizza as wide as its cooking area?

Ooni distinguishes a 24 in cooking area from a stated 20 in maximum pizza. Use the pizza limit rather than assuming the surface width is the same thing.

Does a two-pizza batch mean twice the hourly output?

No. Batch capacity alone does not establish recovery, handling or sustained performance.

Can I use Arc clearance values for Arc XL?

Do not transfer clearances between models without confirmation from the exact model manual or maker guidance.

Sources (2)

  1. Ooni Koda 2 Max specifications · read 23 Oct 2026 · high
  2. Gozney US oven comparison · read 23 Oct 2026 · high
OvenScout Editorial Team

We read each maker’s product page, comparison table and manual, and record the source and the date. OvenScout does not test ovens or score them. Methodology · Corrections